Skip to content
DecideHome
Menu
Head-to-head

AT&T Fiber vs Xfinity (2026): Which Should You Pick?

Fiber versus cable where both are available: price per Mbps, uploads, price guarantees, fees and satisfaction compared head to head.

Updated October 30, 2026

Where AT&T Fiber and Xfinity overlap — large parts of Texas, California, the Southeast and the Midwest — the choice is fiber flexibility against cable's new five-year price lock. AT&T wins on uploads, included equipment and satisfaction; Xfinity wins on availability and a locked rate on the plan most people buy.

Our scoring says

AT&T Fiber scores higher (87 vs 65) on our published criteria. Availability at your address and your own priorities decide whether that gap matters — check both.

Top score in this comparison
1
87

AT&T Fiber

Best overall fiber value Partner

Symmetrical fiber with no data caps, equipment included and no annual contract.

Starting price
$50/mo
Entry speed
300 Mbps ↓ / 300 Mbps ↑
Top speed
5 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
79
  • Equal upload and download speeds on every fiber tier
  • Wi-Fi gateway included; $0 install
  • Top-ranked fiber ISP in the 2026 ACSI study (79)
  • Fiber reaches 21 states; Internet Air (5G) is slower and footprint-limited
  • Advertised prices require AutoPay & paperless billing
Check availability

$50/mo shown as 'Now' price vs 'Was' $60; price is after $10/mo AutoPay & Paperless discount, plus taxes and fees. Official page states A…

2
65

Xfinity

Best availability with a price lock Partner

The widest cable footprint, now with a 5-year price guarantee on core plans.

Starting price
$45/mo
Entry speed
300 Mbps
Top speed
1 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
71
  • 5-year price guarantee on 300 Mbps–1 Gig plans
  • No annual contract, no ETF, unlimited data on current plans
  • Available in 39 states
  • Upload speeds and install fee not disclosed on the plans page
  • Pricing requires AutoPay from a bank account plus paperless billing

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance.

Check availability

Alternate 1-year promo: 300 Mbps for $40/mo for 1 year, 'Offer ends 12/1', new customers. All pricing requires AutoPay with stored bank a…

Where they differ

MetricAT&T FiberXfinityEdge
Entry price$50/mo$45/moXfinity
Entry download300 Mbps300 Mbps—
Top download5000 Mbps1000 MbpsAT&T Fiber
ACSI 20267971AT&T Fiber
Coverage (US households)~49%~35%AT&T Fiber

Side-by-side: the numbers behind the ranking

Observed October 30, 2026 from provider pages and dated sources listed below. Advertised prices generally exclude taxes and assume AutoPay/paperless billing.

ProviderAT&T Fiber
Score 87
Xfinity
Score 65
Connectionfiber, 5G fixed wirelesscable, fiber
Entry planAT&T Internet 300 (Fiber)300 Mbps (5-Year Price Guarantee)
Entry price$50/mo$45/mo
Entry speed (down/up)300 Mbps / 300 Mbps300 Mbps / —
Promo lengthNot stated60 mo
Price after promoNot disclosedNot disclosed
Top planAT&T Internet 5000 (Fiber) — 5 Gbps, $110/mo1 Gig (5-Year Price Guarantee) — 1 Gbps, $60/mo
No contractYesYes
No data capYesYes
EquipmentIncluded - Wi-Fi gateway at no extra cost (official Fiber FAQ); Internet Air All-Fi Hub includedIncluded - plans 'include WiFi equipment' (official)
Installation$0 self or tech install for Fiber (official comparison table); CableTV.com lists up to $99 install for Internet Airunknown (page mentions same-day setup only)
ACSI 20267971
J.D. Power 2026Regional/segment winnerScored, not a winner
Coverage (US households)~49%~35%

Sources and verification

  1. AT&T Fiber plan prices (300/$50, 500/$60, 1000/$70, 5000/$110), equal up/down speeds, unlimited data, $0 install, gateway included, YouTube TV and $100 reward card promos, AT&T Guarantee — att.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  2. Internet Air $60/mo w/ AutoPay (debit/bank), $65 w/ credit card, 90-300 Mbps, install up to $99, 2025 price increase; Fiber no second-year hikes — cabletv.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  3. Internet Air 300 Mbps down / up to 30 Mbps up, no contract, no data cap, gateway included, ~15% FCC-tracked coverage, 20% wireless bundle discount — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  4. ACSI 2026: AT&T Fiber 79, AT&T Internet 71 — theacsi.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  5. J.D. Power 2026: AT&T highest wired in North Central (578) and West (595); South 611 — financialcontent.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  6. Footprint 21 states / 49% nationwide coverage — aol.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  7. Plans 300/$45, 500/$50, 1 Gig/$60 with 5-year price guarantee; $40 1-year promo ends 12/1; no contract/ETF; unlimited data; WiFi equipment included; mobile line and Peacock perks — xfinity.com (observed 2026-10-30)