Skip to content
DecideHome
Menu
Head-to-head

Frontier Fiber vs Spectrum (2026): Fiber Promo vs Cable Promo

Two 12-month promo pricers compared: Frontier's symmetrical fiber from $29.99 against Spectrum's cable from $30, with fees and what happens in year two.

Updated October 30, 2026

Frontier and Spectrum overlap across the Southeast, Texas and parts of the West, and both lead with low first-year prices. Frontier delivers symmetrical fiber and Wi-Fi 7 for the same money; Spectrum counters with a free modem, no contract strings and the new Cox footprint.

Our scoring says

Frontier Fiber scores higher (74 vs 58) on our published criteria. Availability at your address and your own priorities decide whether that gap matters — check both.

Top score in this comparison
1
74

Frontier Fiber

Cheapest fiber entry price Partner

The cheapest fiber entry price we track, with multi-gig tiers up to 7 Gig.

Starting price
$29.99/mo
Entry speed
200 Mbps ↓ / 200 Mbps ↑
Top speed
7 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
72
  • Fiber 200 from $29.99/mo for 12 months
  • Wi-Fi 7 router included; no data caps
  • Up to 7 Gig symmetrical in fiber markets
  • Expect a price step-up after 12 months
  • Some promos (gift cards) require a contract; pro-rated install fee if you leave in year one
Check availability

Price requires Auto Pay and Paperless Bill and applies 'for 12 mos.' Upload figure relies on Frontier's statement that Frontier Fiber is …

2
58

Spectrum

Editorial comparison (not a partner) Editorial listing

Cable in 45 states after absorbing Cox; free modem, no contracts, promo prices that step up after 12 months.

Starting price
$30/mo
Entry speed
100 Mbps
Top speed
7 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
71
  • Internet 100 from $30/mo; 1 Gig $60/mo
  • Free modem; no data caps; no contracts
  • Now covers former Cox markets
  • $10/mo Wi-Fi fee on lower tiers; $20 activation
  • Post-promo price not disclosed

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance.

Visit Spectrum

Internet-only promo lasts 12 months; 24 months with TV or Mobile; 36 months with TV + Mobile. Standard rates apply after promo; standalon…

Where they differ

MetricFrontier FiberSpectrumEdge
Entry price$29.99/mo$30/moFrontier Fiber
Entry download200 Mbps100 MbpsFrontier Fiber
Top download7000 Mbps7000 Mbps—
ACSI 20267271Frontier Fiber
Coverage (US households)~6%~30%Spectrum

Side-by-side: the numbers behind the ranking

Observed October 30, 2026 from provider pages and dated sources listed below. Advertised prices generally exclude taxes and assume AutoPay/paperless billing.

ProviderFrontier Fiber
Score 74
Spectrum
Score 58
Connectionfiber, DSLcable, fiber
Entry planFiber 200Spectrum Internet 100
Entry price$29.99/mo$30/mo
Entry speed (down/up)200 Mbps / 200 Mbps100 Mbps / —
Promo length12 mo12 mo
Price after promoNot disclosedNot disclosed
Top planFiber 7 Gig — 7 Gbps, $124.99/moSpectrum Internet 7 Gig — 7 Gbps, $140/mo
No contractYesYes
No data capYesYes
EquipmentIncluded - Wi-Fi 7 router with every plan; Whole-Home Wi-Fi mesh free with 1 Gig and fasterModem/gateway free; WiFi $10/mo for Internet 100 and Internet 500 customers
Installation$100 fiber installation, usually waived; free self-install if home previously had fiber; waived fee may be charged pro-rata if you disconnect within the first year$0 self-install or $50 professional install, each with a $20 activation fee (HSI)
ACSI 20267271
J.D. Power 2026Runner-up in a regionScored, not a winner
Coverage (US households)~6%~30%

Sources and verification

  1. Fiber 200/$29.99 (12 mo), 500/$44.99, 1 Gig/$64.99, 2 Gig/$79.99, 5 Gig/$104.99, 7 Gig/$124.99; Wi-Fi 7 router included; $100 install usually waived; no data caps; contract/ETF nuance; perks and cons — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  2. Frontier Fiber is symmetrical; unlimited data; no monthly equipment rental fees (official Frontier blog, 2026-07-23) — go.frontier.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  3. ACSI 2026: Frontier Fiber 72, Frontier Communications 63 — theacsi.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  4. J.D. Power 2026: Frontier South 604, West 567, East 542 — financialcontent.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  5. Footprint 29 states / 6% — aol.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  6. Plans Internet 100/$30, 500/$40, 1 Gig/$60 (1 yr), 2 Gig/$80, 7 Gig/$140; free modem; WiFi $10/mo; $0/$50 install + $20 activation; no data caps; no contracts; perks and cons; page modified 2026-10-12 — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  7. Up to 5-year price lock with unlimited mobile line and select speeds — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  8. Charter completed Cox acquisition 2026-08-20; operates as Spectrum across all markets; >70 million homes/businesses in 45 states; customer service commitments — sec.gov (observed 2026-10-30)