The short version
Quantum Fiber is the fiber brand Lumen uses in former CenturyLink territory. The pitch is simplicity: free installation, free equipment, no annual contract and unlimited data on every plan. Headline pricing is $50 per month for either 500 Mbps or 1 Gig, $70 for 2 Gig or 3 Gig, and $165 for a limited-time 8 Gig offer.
The problems are reach and clarity. HighSpeedInternet.com labels Quantum Fiber “limited availability,” the 500 Mbps tier is restricted to select locations, and the disclaimer behind the $50 1 Gig price describes an $80 rate, a $30 discount and a further $5 AutoPay adjustment, so the net price is hard to pin down. Quantum Fiber scored 72 in the 2026 ACSI study. Prices verified October 30, 2026; providers change promotions frequently — confirm at checkout.
Plans and pricing (as of October 30, 2026)
Prices come from HSI’s Quantum Fiber page (updated September 1, 2026) and are plus tax.
- Entry tier: Quantum Fiber 500 Mbps — 500 Mbps download, upload not stated, $50 per month. Available in select locations only. No promo length or post-promo price is stated, so we could not verify either; “price for life” language is not mentioned in the sources reviewed.
- 1 Gig: Also $50 per month in HSI’s headline. The disclaimer describes an $80 per month rate with a $30 per month discount, plus $5 per month more with bank-account AutoPay, so the exact net price is unclear.
- 2 Gig and 3 Gig: $70 per month each.
- Top tier: Quantum Fiber 8 Gig — 8,000 Mbps download, upload not stated, $165 per month as a limited-time offer. Not available with Instant Internet, Instant 360 WiFi or bulk properties.
Fees and fine print
- Contract: No annual contract, per HSI.
- Early termination fee: None mentioned.
- Equipment: Included; HSI states equipment is free.
- Installation: $0; installation is free.
- Data cap: None. Data is unlimited on all plans.
- AutoPay and paperless: The new-customer discounts on 2 Gig ($30 per month off) and 3 Gig ($35 per month off) require bank-account AutoPay and paperless billing. The 1 Gig disclaimer also ties part of its discount to bank-account AutoPay.
Speed and reliability
Quantum Fiber is a fiber-only product. Fiber typically delivers symmetrical upload and download speeds, but HSI does not publish Quantum Fiber’s upload figures, so we could not verify them. One HSI reviewer reported slowdowns.
In the 2026 ACSI study, the CenturyLink/Quantum Fiber (Lumen) fiber segment scored 72, up from 71, while CenturyLink’s non-fiber service scored 67, up from 62. In the J.D. Power 2026 U.S. Residential ISP Satisfaction Study, CenturyLink scored 545 in the West region, tied for third with Spectrum.
Where it’s available
A CNET analysis syndicated on AOL lists CenturyLink/Quantum Fiber in 16 states with about 11% nationwide coverage, but that figure likely includes CenturyLink’s DSL footprint rather than fiber alone. HSI labels the service “limited availability” and names no specific markets. An address check is the only reliable way to know whether Quantum Fiber, as opposed to legacy CenturyLink DSL, is offered at your home.
Perks right now
Observed on HSI’s Quantum Fiber page on October 30, 2026:
- Free installation and free equipment.
- No contracts and unlimited data.
- Save $20 per month when bundled with AT&T Wireless.
- New-customer discounts of $30 per month off 2 Gig and $35 per month off 3 Gig with bank-account AutoPay and paperless billing.
What to watch out for
- Limited availability and a limited selection of speed tiers.
- A confusing discount structure on 1 Gig pricing that makes the real monthly cost unclear.
- HSI ratings of 2 out of 5 for service and 2.5 out of 5 for speed, plus reviewer reports of slowdowns.
Who should choose Quantum Fiber
- Households that want fiber with zero install cost, zero equipment cost and no contract.
- AT&T Wireless customers who can apply the $20 monthly bundle discount.
- Multi-gig shoppers in Quantum areas comparing 2 Gig and 3 Gig at $70.
- Not the pick for anyone who needs a clearly stated price lock; see the live comparison table on this page for providers with multi-year guarantees.
Sources
- https://highspeedinternet.com/providers/quantum-fiber — Plans, free install and equipment, unlimited data, no contract, AT&T Wireless discount, ratings (page updated 2026-09-01; observed 2026-10-30)
- https://theacsi.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/26may_Telecom-Cell-Smartwatch-Study.pdf — ACSI 2026: CenturyLink/Quantum Fiber 72 (fiber), CenturyLink 67 (non-fiber) (observed 2026-10-30)
- https://www.financialcontent.com/article/bizwire-2026-10-8-jd-power-internet-provider-satisfaction-now-goes-beyond-network-quality — J.D. Power 2026: CenturyLink West 545 (observed 2026-10-30)
- https://www.aol.com/best-internet-providers-area-130000794.html — Footprint 16 states / 11% (observed 2026-10-30)