Skip to content
DecideHome
Menu
Home Internet · Ranking

Best Cable Internet Providers of 2026

The three cable providers that serve most US homes, ranked on price locks, fees, speeds and satisfaction, plus what the Charter–Cox merger means for pricing.

Updated October 30, 20264 providers scoredHow we scored

Cable is where most Americans still get their internet, and 2026 changed the category more than any year since gigabit launched: Xfinity moved its core plans to a five-year price guarantee, Charter absorbed Cox and now sells Spectrum plans in 45 states, and Optimum published a standard rate card that makes its promo discounts (and fees) unusually visible.

The cable trade-off is unchanged — fast downloads, modest uploads — so the ranking leans on fee transparency and satisfaction, where the three differ a lot.

Top score in this comparison
1
65

Xfinity

Best availability with a price lock Partner

The widest cable footprint, now with a 5-year price guarantee on core plans.

Starting price
$45/mo
Entry speed
300 Mbps
Top speed
1 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
71
  • 5-year price guarantee on 300 Mbps–1 Gig plans
  • No annual contract, no ETF, unlimited data on current plans
  • Available in 39 states
  • Upload speeds and install fee not disclosed on the plans page
  • Pricing requires AutoPay from a bank account plus paperless billing

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance.

Check availability Read review

Alternate 1-year promo: 300 Mbps for $40/mo for 1 year, 'Offer ends 12/1', new customers. All pricing requires AutoPay with stored bank a…

2
62

Optimum

Lowest promo price (with caveats) Partner

Aggressive promo pricing on fiber and cable in the Northeast, Texas and the Southeast — read the rate card first.

Starting price
$35/mo
Entry speed
300 Mbps ↓ / 300 Mbps ↑
Top speed
8 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
64
  • Promo fiber from $35/mo with a five-year price guarantee cited
  • Fiber plans up to 8 Gig
  • $6/mo Network Enhancement Fee and $14/mo gateway on the official rate card
  • Large gap between promo and standard rates (300 Mbps fiber: $35 promo vs $75 standard)

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Availability.

Could not verify: coverage share

Check availability Read review

$35/mo with $10/mo eligible Auto Pay & Paperless discount (HSI, page updated 2026-10-01). HSI cites five-year price guarantees. Post-prom…

3
58

Spectrum

Editorial comparison (not a partner) Editorial listing

Cable in 45 states after absorbing Cox; free modem, no contracts, promo prices that step up after 12 months.

Starting price
$30/mo
Entry speed
100 Mbps
Top speed
7 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
71
  • Internet 100 from $30/mo; 1 Gig $60/mo
  • Free modem; no data caps; no contracts
  • Now covers former Cox markets
  • $10/mo Wi-Fi fee on lower tiers; $20 activation
  • Post-promo price not disclosed

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance.

Visit Spectrum Read review

Internet-only promo lasts 12 months; 24 months with TV or Mobile; 36 months with TV + Mobile. Standard rates apply after promo; standalon…

4
44

Cox (now Spectrum)

Editorial comparison (not a partner) Editorial listing

Charter completed its purchase of Cox on Aug 20, 2026; new customers in Cox markets are sold Spectrum plans.

Starting price
$30/mo
Entry speed
100 Mbps
Top speed
7 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
72
  • Spectrum pricing and a free mobile line for a year now apply
  • Data caps dropped
  • Transition pricing is inconsistent across sources — verify at checkout

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance.

Visit Cox (now Spectrum) Read review

Per HSI's Cox page, new customers now get Spectrum plans: Internet 100 $30/mo for 1 yr, 500 $40, 1 Gig $60, 2 Gig $80, 7 Gig $140. Legacy…

Side-by-side: the numbers behind the ranking

Observed October 30, 2026 from provider pages and dated sources listed below. Advertised prices generally exclude taxes and assume AutoPay/paperless billing.

ProviderXfinity
Score 65
Optimum
Score 62
Spectrum
Score 58
Cox (now Spectrum)
Score 44
Connectioncable, fibercable, fibercable, fibercable, fiber
Entry plan300 Mbps (5-Year Price Guarantee)300 MbpsSpectrum Internet 100Spectrum Internet 100 (offered to new customers in Cox markets)
Entry price$45/mo$35/mo$30/mo$30/mo
Entry speed (down/up)300 Mbps / —300 Mbps / 300 Mbps100 Mbps / —100 Mbps / —
Promo length60 mo60 mo12 mo12 mo
Price after promoNot disclosed$75/moNot disclosedNot disclosed
Top plan1 Gig (5-Year Price Guarantee) — 1 Gbps, $60/mo8 Gig Fiber — 8 Gbps, $90/moSpectrum Internet 7 Gig — 7 Gbps, $140/moSpectrum Internet 7 Gig (select markets) / Cox Go Beyond Fast 2 Gbps (legacy) — 7 Gbps, $140/mo
No contractYesYesYesYes
No data capYesYesYesYes
EquipmentIncluded - plans 'include WiFi equipment' (official)Wireless Gateway $14.00/mo or DOCSIS modem $14.00/mo (official rate card); HSI: router rental up to $14/mo unless you opt out; Whole Home WiFi $10/mo standard ($5/mo after promo per HSI)Modem/gateway free; WiFi $10/mo for Internet 100 and Internet 500 customers$15/mo internet gateway (legacy Cox, per HSI); Spectrum plans include a free modem
Installationunknown (page mentions same-day setup only)$100.00 professional installation; $25 first outlet new install (official rate card)$0 self-install or $50 professional install, each with a $20 activation fee (HSI)Free self-install; $100 professional install (HSI, legacy Cox)
ACSI 202671647172
J.D. Power 2026Scored, not a winnerNot publishedScored, not a winnerScored, not a winner
Coverage (US households)~35%Unverified~30%~6%

Promo cliffs versus price locks

Spectrum's $30 Internet 100 and $60 1 Gig prices run 12 months before standard rates apply; the company does not publish the standalone post-promo price. Xfinity's 300 Mbps, 500 Mbps and 1 Gig plans lock the base rate for 60 months. Optimum cites five-year guarantees on promos while its rate card lists $75–$145 standard prices. If you dislike renegotiating every year, the lock is worth more than a few dollars of promo.

The Cox transition

Charter completed its acquisition of Cox on August 20, 2026 and rolled Spectrum products into former Cox markets in mid-September. If you live in Arizona, Southern California, Oklahoma or another Cox area, you will be quoted Spectrum plans; existing Cox customers keep their current service for now.

Frequently asked questions

Why do cable uploads matter?

Most cable tiers deliver 20–35 Mbps upload even on gigabit plans. That is fine for one or two video calls, tight for households that upload large files or stream themselves.

Can I use my own modem?

Xfinity and Spectrum allow compatible customer-owned modems, which removes the equipment line item; check the provider's approved-device list before buying.

Sources and verification

  1. Plans 300/$45, 500/$50, 1 Gig/$60 with 5-year price guarantee; $40 1-year promo ends 12/1; no contract/ETF; unlimited data; WiFi equipment included; mobile line and Peacock perks — xfinity.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  2. ACSI 2026: Xfinity 71 (non-fiber), Xfinity Fiber 77 — theacsi.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  3. J.D. Power 2026: Xfinity 558 North Central — financialcontent.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  4. Footprint 39 states / 35% — aol.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  5. Promo plans 300/$35, 500/$45, 1 Gig/$55, 2 Gig/$65, 8 Gig/$90 with Auto Pay & Paperless; router up to $14/mo; no data cap; no contracts; perks and cons; page updated 2026-10-01 — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  6. Official standard rate card effective 2026-05-18: fiber 300/$75, 1 Gig/$115, 8 Gig/$300; cable tiers; Network Enhancement Fee $6; Wireless Gateway $14; pro install $100; late fee $10 — optimum.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  7. Plans Internet 100/$30, 500/$40, 1 Gig/$60 (1 yr), 2 Gig/$80, 7 Gig/$140; free modem; WiFi $10/mo; $0/$50 install + $20 activation; no data caps; no contracts; perks and cons; page modified 2026-10-12 — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  8. Up to 5-year price lock with unlimited mobile line and select speeds — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  9. Charter completed Cox acquisition 2026-08-20; operates as Spectrum across all markets; >70 million homes/businesses in 45 states; customer service commitments — sec.gov (observed 2026-10-30)
  10. Cox customers in Arizona and San Diego County transitioning to Spectrum (headline-level, not fetched) — 10news.com (observed 2026-10-30)