Skip to content
DecideHome
Menu
Provider review

Spectrum Internet Review (2026): Bigger After Cox, Same 12-Month Promo Math

Verdict: Spectrum's $30 entry price, free modem and no-contract terms are easy to like, and the Cox acquisition gives it one of the widest wired footprints in our comparison, but the 12-month promo, $20 activation fee and $10 Wi-Fi charge on lower tiers erode the headline value.

Updated October 30, 2026 · Facts verified October 30, 2026
What we like
  • Good fit: Households that want a cheap no-contract cable plan and can supply their own router
  • Good fit: Shoppers who will bundle Spectrum Mobile to extend the promo and lock the price
Watch out for
  • Not for: Anyone who wants to know the post-promo rate before signing

The short version

Spectrum, Charter’s consumer brand, now has the largest wired footprint by state count in our comparison. Charter completed its Cox acquisition on August 20, 2026, and says its services reach more than 70 million homes and businesses across 45 states. The core offer is unchanged: Spectrum Internet 100 for $30 per month, Internet 1 Gig for $60, no contract, no data cap and a free modem.

The math to watch is the promo clock. Internet-only promos last 12 months, and Spectrum does not disclose the standalone standard rate. Add a $20 activation fee and a $10 per month Wi-Fi charge on the two lower tiers. Spectrum scored 71 in the 2026 ACSI study, flat versus 2025. Prices verified October 30, 2026; providers change promotions frequently — confirm at checkout.

Plans and pricing (as of October 30, 2026)

Spectrum’s official plans page could not be fetched, so prices come from HighSpeedInternet.com’s Spectrum page (modified October 12, 2026).

  • Entry tier: Spectrum Internet 100 — 100 Mbps download, upload not stated, $30 per month for 12 months.
  • Middle tiers: Internet 500 for $40 per month and Internet 1 Gig for $60 per month for one year. The 1 Gig plan is the widely available top tier.
  • Select-market tier: Internet 2 Gig for $80 per month.
  • Top tier: Spectrum Internet 7 Gig — 7,000 Mbps download, upload not stated, $140 per month. Fiber only, select markets only.

The internet-only promo runs 12 months; bundling extends it to 24 months with TV or Mobile and 36 months with both. Standard rates apply afterward, but the standalone post-promo price is not stated (some bundles list $75 per month post-introductory), so we could not verify what Internet 100 or 1 Gig cost in month 13.

Fees and fine print

  • Contract: None, per HSI.
  • Early termination fee: Not mentioned; we could not verify one.
  • Equipment: The modem or gateway is free. Wi-Fi costs $10 per month for Internet 100 and Internet 500 customers.
  • Installation: $0 for self-install or $50 for professional installation, each with a $20 activation fee.
  • Data cap: None.
  • AutoPay and paperless: The sources reviewed do not tie Spectrum’s advertised prices to AutoPay or paperless billing, so we could not verify any such condition.

Speed and reliability

Spectrum is primarily a hybrid fiber-coax cable network, with fiber in select markets where the 7 Gig tier is sold. Cable download speeds are solid at these tiers, but uploads on cable are typically a fraction of downloads, and HSI does not publish Spectrum’s upload figures, so we could not verify them.

In the 2026 ACSI study, Spectrum (Charter Communications) scored 71, unchanged from 2025. In the J.D. Power 2026 U.S. Residential ISP Satisfaction Study, Spectrum scored 545 in the West region, tied for third with CenturyLink.

Where it’s available

A CNET analysis syndicated on AOL, compiled before the Cox deal, lists Spectrum in 41 states with about 30% nationwide coverage. After closing the Cox acquisition on August 20, 2026, Charter states its services are available to more than 70 million homes and businesses across 45 states, operating as Spectrum everywhere. Former Cox customers are covered in our separate Cox review.

Perks right now

Observed on HSI’s Spectrum and Cox pages and Charter’s SEC filing on October 30, 2026:

  • One free unlimited mobile line for a year with Spectrum Mobile.
  • A “Save $1,000 per year” pledge when switching to a Spectrum mobile plus internet bundle, with Spectrum covering the difference if you do not.
  • Eleven streaming services included with TV Select.
  • A price lock of up to five years when combining an unlimited mobile line with select internet speeds.
  • Spectrum Customer Service Commitments, per Charter’s August 20, 2026 filing: 24/7 U.S.-based support and credits for outages longer than two hours.

What to watch out for

  • Advanced WiFi fees of $10 per month on the lower tiers.
  • Price hikes after the promo period, with no disclosed standalone post-promo rate.
  • A $20 activation fee on top of installation.

Who should choose Spectrum

  • Households that want a no-contract cable plan under $50 and either accept the $10 Wi-Fi fee or plan to use their own router.
  • Shoppers willing to add Spectrum Mobile to stretch the promo to 24 or 36 months or lock pricing for up to five years.
  • Movers who want a provider likely to serve the next address too, given the 45-state footprint.
  • Not the pick for anyone who needs the year-two price in writing; see the live comparison table on this page for providers with published multi-year guarantees.

Sources

Sources and verification

  1. Plans Internet 100/$30, 500/$40, 1 Gig/$60 (1 yr), 2 Gig/$80, 7 Gig/$140; free modem; WiFi $10/mo; $0/$50 install + $20 activation; no data caps; no contracts; perks and cons; page modified 2026-10-12 — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  2. Up to 5-year price lock with unlimited mobile line and select speeds — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  3. Charter completed Cox acquisition 2026-08-20; operates as Spectrum across all markets; >70 million homes/businesses in 45 states; customer service commitments — sec.gov (observed 2026-10-30)
  4. ACSI 2026: Spectrum 71 — theacsi.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  5. J.D. Power 2026: Spectrum West 545 — financialcontent.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  6. Footprint 41 states / 30% — aol.com (observed 2026-10-30)