The short version
Verizon sells two different home internet products. Fios is fiber and runs from 300 Mbps at $49.99 to 5 Gig at $119.99. 5G Home is fixed wireless delivered over Verizon’s mobile network, with three tiers from $50 to $75 and a footprint that reaches all 50 states.
Both come with three- to five-year price guarantees by tier, no annual contract, no early termination fee, no data caps and included equipment. In the 2026 ACSI study, Verizon 5G Home scored 79 and tied for the top non-fiber ISP, while Fios scored 75. J.D. Power’s 2026 study ranked Verizon highest among wired providers in the East. Prices verified October 30, 2026; providers change promotions frequently — confirm at checkout.
Plans and pricing (as of October 30, 2026)
Verizon’s official plans page could not be fetched, so figures come from HighSpeedInternet.com, which labels some pricing “Data as of 7/23/2025” despite a September 14, 2026 page update; confirm at checkout.
Fios (fiber):
- Entry tier: Fios 300 Mbps — 300 Mbps download, upload not stated, $49.99 per month with a 3-year price guarantee.
- Middle tiers: Fios 500 Mbps for $74.99 (4-year guarantee), Fios 1 Gig for $89.99 and Fios 2 Gig for $109.99 (up to 2,300 Mbps).
- Top tier: Fios 5 Gig — 5,000 Mbps download, upload not stated, $119.99 per month with a 5-year price guarantee.
5G Home (fixed wireless):
- 5G Home — 300 Mbps, $50 per month with Auto Pay and a 36-month price guarantee; $15 per month off with a qualifying Verizon mobile plan.
- 5G Home Plus — 500 Mbps, $60 per month with a 4-year price guarantee.
- 5G Home Ultimate — 1,000 Mbps, $75 per month with a 5-year price guarantee.
Post-guarantee prices are not stated, so we could not verify them; with 36- to 60-month guarantees, that matters less than with 12-month promos.
Fees and fine print
- Contract: None on any internet plan, per HSI.
- Early termination fee: None.
- Equipment: Router or gateway included on Fios and fixed wireless. Premium plans include one Whole-Home Wi-Fi extender; extra extenders cost $10 per month for one or $15 per month for three.
- Installation: $99 for Fios, waived when you order online. $0 for 5G Home and LTE Home, which are self-install.
- Data cap: None, though usage is subject to Verizon’s terms of service.
- AutoPay and paperless: The $50 5G Home price assumes Auto Pay. Mobile-plan discounts require a qualifying Verizon mobile line.
Speed and reliability
Fios is fiber-to-the-home, which normally means symmetrical uploads, but the sources reviewed do not publish Fios upload figures, so we could not verify them. 5G Home is fixed wireless: a home gateway connects to Verizon’s 5G network, and real-world speed depends on address, signal and congestion. HSI notes slowdowns may still occur, and 5G Home upload speeds are not stated either.
In the 2026 ACSI study, Verizon Fios scored 75, down from 76. Verizon 5G Home Internet scored 79, up from 77, tying for the top-ranked non-fiber ISP. The J.D. Power 2026 U.S. Residential ISP Satisfaction Study ranked Verizon highest among wired providers in the East region with a score of 592.
Where it’s available
A CNET analysis syndicated on AOL lists Verizon 5G Home Internet in 50 states with about 25% nationwide coverage; HSI estimates roughly 25% of FCC-tracked areas, capacity permitting. The sources reviewed do not state a Fios state count, so we could not verify the fiber footprint’s size.
Perks right now
Observed on HSI’s Verizon pages on October 30, 2026:
- An Amazon gift card worth up to $200 with online Fios orders.
- Verizon One bundle: home internet plus mobile for $70 per month.
- Students: Fios for $30 per month and 10% off mobile.
- Multi-year price guarantees of three, four or five years by tier.
- A Fios 300 Mbps plus YouTube TV bundle at $172.98 per month.
What to watch out for
- Verizon’s mobile plans and bundles are pricey, per HSI, so bundle discounts only help if you would buy Verizon mobile anyway.
- Service quality depends on the address, and 5G Home can slow during congestion.
- Live TV is not available everywhere, and HSI’s overall customer rating for Verizon is 3.3 out of 5.
Who should choose Verizon Home Internet
- Households in Fios territory who want fiber with a 3- to 5-year rate lock and no contract.
- Verizon mobile customers who can knock $15 per month off 5G Home.
- Anyone avoiding equipment rental and install charges; order Fios online to waive the $99 fee.
- Not the pick for anyone who needs published upload speeds or guaranteed throughput on fixed wireless; see the live comparison table on this page.
Sources
- https://highspeedinternet.com/providers/verizon — Fios and 5G Home prices, guarantees, equipment, install, no contracts or ETF, perks and cons (observed 2026-10-30)
- https://www.highspeedinternet.com/resources/att-internet-air-vs-verizon — 5G Home pricing, mobile discount, coverage estimate, free equipment and install (observed 2026-10-30)
- https://theacsi.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/26may_Telecom-Cell-Smartwatch-Study.pdf — ACSI 2026: Verizon Fios 75, Verizon 5G Home 79 (observed 2026-10-30)
- https://www.financialcontent.com/article/bizwire-2026-10-8-jd-power-internet-provider-satisfaction-now-goes-beyond-network-quality — J.D. Power 2026: Verizon highest wired in East (592) (observed 2026-10-30)
- https://www.aol.com/best-internet-providers-area-130000794.html — 5G Home footprint 50 states / 25% (observed 2026-10-30)