The short version
Brightspeed took over CenturyLink’s DSL footprint in 2022 and now sells fiber in part of that territory. Where fiber exists, pricing is low: Fiber 200 for $29.99 per month, 1 Gig for $49.99 and 8 Gig for $119.99, all with a Wi-Fi 7 router included and no data caps. Brightspeed Fiber also posted the biggest year-over-year jump of any fiber ISP in the 2026 ACSI study, climbing from 72 to 78.
The caveats are a short promo window that HighSpeedInternet.com describes as “excellent for the first six months,” an undisclosed post-promo price, installation fees of up to $100 and a DSL product that is slow and carries its own equipment fee. Prices verified October 30, 2026; providers change promotions frequently — confirm at checkout.
Plans and pricing (as of October 30, 2026)
Prices come from HSI’s Brightspeed page (modified September 15, 2026) and assume autopay and paperless billing, which is worth $10 per month.
- Entry tier: Fiber 200 — 200 Mbps download, upload not stated, $29.99 per month. HSI describes the pricing as excellent for the first six months, but the exact promo mechanics and the post-promo price are not stated, so we could not verify what you pay from month seven.
- Middle tiers: Fiber 500 for $39.99, Fiber 1 Gig for $49.99, Fiber 2 Gig for $59.99 and Fiber 5 Gig for $89.99.
- Top tier: Fiber 8 Gig — 8,000 Mbps download, upload not stated, $119.99 per month in HSI’s table. HSI’s “top deals” module lists $109.99 for the same plan, an inconsistency we could not resolve.
- DSL: The cheapest DSL plan is up to 15 Mbps for $55 per month; HSI’s page shows DSL between $55 and $65.
Fees and fine print
- Contract: No annual contract. DSL requires monthly prepayment, and fiber requires autopay.
- Early termination fee: None, per HSI.
- Equipment: Fiber plans include Wi-Fi 7 equipment. DSL customers pay $15 per month for a modem/router gateway.
- Installation: Up to $100 for fiber; $30 for DSL self-install.
- Data cap: None.
- AutoPay and paperless: The $10 per month autopay discount is built into the advertised fiber prices.
Speed and reliability
Brightspeed Fiber is fiber-to-the-home. Fiber connections typically deliver symmetrical speeds, but the sources we reviewed do not state Brightspeed’s upload figures, so we could not verify them. Brightspeed DSL runs over the copper lines inherited from CenturyLink and tops out at far lower speeds; the cheapest plan is up to 15 Mbps.
In the 2026 ACSI study, Brightspeed Fiber scored 78, up from 72, the largest year-over-year gain among fiber ISPs in the study. That puts it one point behind the top fiber score in our comparison. Brightspeed was not mentioned in the J.D. Power 2026 press release excerpts we reviewed, so we could not verify a J.D. Power result. The ACSI data we reviewed covers Brightspeed Fiber only, not DSL.
Where it’s available
HSI reports Brightspeed service in 20 states, mostly in the South and Midwest plus Pennsylvania and New Jersey, with fiber available in 13 of those states. Brightspeed does not appear in the CNET/AOL top-20 coverage table, so we could not verify a nationwide coverage percentage. Availability is address-specific; check for fiber rather than for Brightspeed service in general.
Perks right now
Observed on HSI’s Brightspeed page on October 30, 2026:
- Up to $250 in reward cards for signing up for fiber.
- One month of Total Home Tech Support free.
- Wi-Fi 7 equipment included on all fiber plans.
What to watch out for
- Fiber availability is limited to 13 of Brightspeed’s 20 states, and DSL speeds are slow.
- DSL carries a $15 per month equipment fee and requires monthly prepayment.
- Fiber installation fees run up to $100.
- HSI’s page shows internal price inconsistencies (DSL at $55 versus $65; 8 Gig at $109.99 versus $119.99), so confirm the exact figure at checkout.
Who should choose Brightspeed
- Households in Brightspeed fiber markets who want gigabit service under $50 per month to start.
- Multi-gig shoppers who want 2 Gig to 8 Gig options with included Wi-Fi 7.
- Shoppers who weight recent satisfaction momentum; the 2026 ACSI gain was the largest among fiber ISPs.
- Not the pick for DSL-only addresses, where a fixed wireless provider in the live comparison table on this page may offer more speed for the money.
Sources
- https://www.highspeedinternet.com/providers/brightspeed — Fiber and DSL prices, fees, 20 states with fiber in 13, perks and cons (page modified 2026-09-15; observed 2026-10-30)
- https://theacsi.com/wp-content/uploads/2026/05/26may_Telecom-Cell-Smartwatch-Study.pdf — ACSI 2026: Brightspeed Fiber 78, up from 72 (observed 2026-10-30)