Skip to content
DecideHome
Menu
Home Internet · Ranking

Best Internet for Working From Home in 2026

Video calls and cloud work depend on upload speed and stability. Providers ranked with upload performance and satisfaction weighted for remote workers.

Updated October 30, 202611 providers scoredHow we scored

Remote work exposes the weakest part of a connection: upload. A 1080p video call needs about 3–4 Mbps up per participant, cloud backups and large file syncs need far more, and a household with two people on calls plus a kid streaming will saturate a 20 Mbps cable upload. Fiber's symmetrical speeds are the single biggest quality-of-life upgrade for home workers.

We also weight reliability signals — satisfaction scores and the presence of cellular backup options — because a dropped connection in a client meeting costs more than any plan.

Top score in this comparison
1
87

AT&T Fiber

Best overall fiber value Partner

Symmetrical fiber with no data caps, equipment included and no annual contract.

Starting price
$50/mo
Entry speed
300 Mbps ↓ / 300 Mbps ↑
Top speed
5 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
79
  • Equal upload and download speeds on every fiber tier
  • Wi-Fi gateway included; $0 install
  • Top-ranked fiber ISP in the 2026 ACSI study (79)
  • Fiber reaches 21 states; Internet Air (5G) is slower and footprint-limited
  • Advertised prices require AutoPay & paperless billing
Check availability Read review

$50/mo shown as 'Now' price vs 'Was' $60; price is after $10/mo AutoPay & Paperless discount, plus taxes and fees. Official page states A…

2
82

Quantum Fiber

Simplest fiber pricing Partner

Free install, free equipment and flat pricing in 16 western and midwestern states.

Starting price
$50/mo
Entry speed
500 Mbps
Top speed
8 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
72
  • Free installation and equipment
  • No contract; unlimited data
  • 1 Gig around $50/mo after discounts
  • Limited availability and few speed tiers
  • Discount structure on 1 Gig is confusing — confirm the net price

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance.

Check availability Read review

500 Mbps limited to select locations; 1 Gig is also $50/mo (HSI headline) - disclaimer describes an $80/mo rate with $30/mo discount plus…

3
78

Verizon Fios

Best price guarantees on fiber Partner

Fiber in the Northeast and Mid-Atlantic with 3- to 5-year price guarantees and included equipment.

Starting price
$49.99/mo
Entry speed
300 Mbps
Top speed
5 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
75
  • 3- to 5-year price guarantees depending on tier
  • Router included; no data caps; no contracts
  • 5G Home scored 79 in ACSI 2026 — tied best non-fiber ISP
  • Fios footprint is regional; 5G Home speeds depend on your address and congestion
  • $99 Fios install unless you order online

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance.

Check availability Read review

3-year price guarantee. Source (HSI) labels some pricing 'Data as of 7/23/2025' though page was modified 2026-09-14. Official verizon.com…

4
74

Frontier Fiber

Cheapest fiber entry price Partner

The cheapest fiber entry price we track, with multi-gig tiers up to 7 Gig.

Starting price
$29.99/mo
Entry speed
200 Mbps ↓ / 200 Mbps ↑
Top speed
7 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
72
  • Fiber 200 from $29.99/mo for 12 months
  • Wi-Fi 7 router included; no data caps
  • Up to 7 Gig symmetrical in fiber markets
  • Expect a price step-up after 12 months
  • Some promos (gift cards) require a contract; pro-rated install fee if you leave in year one
Check availability Read review

Price requires Auto Pay and Paperless Bill and applies 'for 12 mos.' Upload figure relies on Frontier's statement that Frontier Fiber is …

5
73

Verizon 5G Home Internet

Best 5G home internet overall Partner

The best-rated fixed-wireless service in ACSI 2026, with 3- to 5-year price guarantees and free equipment.

Starting price
$50/mo
Entry speed
300 Mbps
Top speed
1 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
79
  • Plans from $50 with AutoPay; $15/mo off with a Verizon mobile plan
  • Gateway included; self-install; no caps or contracts
  • ACSI 79 — tied top non-fiber ISP
  • Speeds depend on address and tower load
  • Sub-$50 pricing needs a Verizon mobile plan

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance.

Check availability Read review

$50/mo with Auto Pay, without select 5G mobile plans; $15/mo off with qualifying Verizon mobile plan

6
65

Xfinity

Best availability with a price lock Partner

The widest cable footprint, now with a 5-year price guarantee on core plans.

Starting price
$45/mo
Entry speed
300 Mbps
Top speed
1 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
71
  • 5-year price guarantee on 300 Mbps–1 Gig plans
  • No annual contract, no ETF, unlimited data on current plans
  • Available in 39 states
  • Upload speeds and install fee not disclosed on the plans page
  • Pricing requires AutoPay from a bank account plus paperless billing

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance.

Check availability Read review

Alternate 1-year promo: 300 Mbps for $40/mo for 1 year, 'Offer ends 12/1', new customers. All pricing requires AutoPay with stored bank a…

7
64

Brightspeed Fiber

Best up-and-coming fiber Partner

Fast-growing fiber in the South and Midwest with Wi-Fi 7 included — the biggest ACSI gain of 2026.

Starting price
$29.99/mo
Entry speed
200 Mbps
Top speed
8 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
78
  • Fiber 200 from $29.99/mo; Wi-Fi 7 on all fiber plans
  • ACSI jumped from 72 to 78 in 2026
  • No contract, no data caps
  • Fiber available in 13 of 20 states; DSL elsewhere is slow and carries a $15/mo modem fee
  • Install up to $100

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance, Availability.

Could not verify: coverage share

Check availability Read review

Price with autopay and paperless billing ($10/mo autopay discount). HSI describes fiber pricing as 'excellent for the first six months'; …

8
63

T-Mobile Home Internet

Editorial comparison (not a partner) Editorial listing

5G home internet with the widest footprint in our set and a 5-year price guarantee.

Starting price
$60/mo
Entry speed
354 Mbps ↓ / 55 Mbps ↑
Top speed
498 Mbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
78
  • Covers roughly 64% of US households
  • No equipment fee, no data cap, no contract
  • Highest-rated wireless ISP in J.D. Power 2026 for the third year
  • Prices rose $10 in June 2026; $35 connection fee
  • Speeds vary by address and can be deprioritized under congestion
Visit T-Mobile Home Internet Read review

$60/mo plus taxes and fees (base price rose from $50 to $60 in June 2026 per CableTV.com, page modified 2026-10-19). Up to $25/mo off wit…

9
62

Optimum

Lowest promo price (with caveats) Partner

Aggressive promo pricing on fiber and cable in the Northeast, Texas and the Southeast — read the rate card first.

Starting price
$35/mo
Entry speed
300 Mbps ↓ / 300 Mbps ↑
Top speed
8 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
64
  • Promo fiber from $35/mo with a five-year price guarantee cited
  • Fiber plans up to 8 Gig
  • $6/mo Network Enhancement Fee and $14/mo gateway on the official rate card
  • Large gap between promo and standard rates (300 Mbps fiber: $35 promo vs $75 standard)

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Availability.

Could not verify: coverage share

Check availability Read review

$35/mo with $10/mo eligible Auto Pay & Paperless discount (HSI, page updated 2026-10-01). HSI cites five-year price guarantees. Post-prom…

10
58

Spectrum

Editorial comparison (not a partner) Editorial listing

Cable in 45 states after absorbing Cox; free modem, no contracts, promo prices that step up after 12 months.

Starting price
$30/mo
Entry speed
100 Mbps
Top speed
7 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
71
  • Internet 100 from $30/mo; 1 Gig $60/mo
  • Free modem; no data caps; no contracts
  • Now covers former Cox markets
  • $10/mo Wi-Fi fee on lower tiers; $20 activation
  • Post-promo price not disclosed

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance.

Visit Spectrum Read review

Internet-only promo lasts 12 months; 24 months with TV or Mobile; 36 months with TV + Mobile. Standard rates apply after promo; standalon…

11
44

Kinetic by Windstream

Rural fiber option Partner

Low promo prices on fiber in 18 mostly rural states; watch the step-up.

Starting price
$19.99/mo
Entry speed
100 Mbps
Top speed
2 Gbps
Contract
None
Data cap
None
ACSI 2026
71
  • Fiber from $19.99/mo promo
  • Unlimited data; no contracts
  • 2 Gig tiers available
  • Promos can expire quickly with large increases
  • $10.99/mo gateway and activation fees; weak customer sub-scores

Scored at the field median (no verifiable figure): Upload performance.

Check availability Read review

Promo price with AutoPay ($5/mo AutoPay discount). HSI plan cards list 300 Mbps at $19.99 while its table lists 100 Mbps at $19.99 and 30…

Side-by-side: the numbers behind the ranking

Observed October 30, 2026 from provider pages and dated sources listed below. Advertised prices generally exclude taxes and assume AutoPay/paperless billing.

ProviderAT&T Fiber
Score 87
Quantum Fiber
Score 82
Verizon Fios
Score 78
Frontier Fiber
Score 74
Verizon 5G Home Internet
Score 73
Xfinity
Score 65
Brightspeed Fiber
Score 64
T-Mobile Home Internet
Score 63
Optimum
Score 62
Spectrum
Score 58
Kinetic by Windstream
Score 44
Connectionfiber, 5G fixed wirelessfiberfiber, 5G fixed wireless, 4G LTE fixed wirelessfiber, DSL5G fixed wirelesscable, fiberfiber, DSL5G fixed wireless, 4G LTE fixed wireless, fibercable, fibercable, fiberfiber, DSL
Entry planAT&T Internet 300 (Fiber)Quantum Fiber 500 MbpsFios 300 MbpsFiber 2005G Home300 Mbps (5-Year Price Guarantee)Fiber 200Rely Home Internet300 MbpsSpectrum Internet 100Kinetic Internet 100 Mbps (Fiber)
Entry price$50/mo$50/mo$49.99/mo$29.99/mo$50/mo$45/mo$29.99/mo$60/mo$35/mo$30/mo$19.99/mo
Entry speed (down/up)300 Mbps / 300 Mbps500 Mbps / —300 Mbps / —200 Mbps / 200 Mbps300 Mbps / —300 Mbps / —200 Mbps / —354 Mbps / 55 Mbps300 Mbps / 300 Mbps100 Mbps / —100 Mbps / —
Promo lengthNot statedNot stated36 mo12 mo36 mo60 mo6 mo60 mo60 mo12 mo12 mo
Price after promoNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed$75/moNot disclosedNot disclosed
Top planAT&T Internet 5000 (Fiber) — 5 Gbps, $110/moQuantum Fiber 8 Gig — 8 Gbps, $165/moFios 5 Gig — 5 Gbps, $119.99/moFiber 7 Gig — 7 Gbps, $124.99/mo5G Home Ultimate — 1 Gbps, $75/mo1 Gig (5-Year Price Guarantee) — 1 Gbps, $60/moFiber 8 Gig — 8 Gbps, $119.99/moAll-In Home Internet — 498 Mbps, $80/mo8 Gig Fiber — 8 Gbps, $90/moSpectrum Internet 7 Gig — 7 Gbps, $140/moKinetic Internet Max 2 Gig — 2 Gbps, $79.99/mo
No contractYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
No data capYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYesYes
EquipmentIncluded - Wi-Fi gateway at no extra cost (official Fiber FAQ); Internet Air All-Fi Hub includedIncluded - equipment is free (HSI)Included - router/gateway at no extra charge with Fios and fixed wireless; premium plans include one Whole-Home Wi-Fi extender; extra extenders $10/mo (one) or $15/mo (three)Included - Wi-Fi 7 router with every plan; Whole-Home Wi-Fi mesh free with 1 Gig and fasterIncluded - gateway at no extra chargeIncluded - plans 'include WiFi equipment' (official)Fiber: Wi-Fi 7 included on all fiber plans; DSL: $15/mo modem/router gatewayIncluded - 5G gateway (Wi-Fi 7 gateway on Amplified/All-In) with no rental fee; must be returned on cancellationWireless Gateway $14.00/mo or DOCSIS modem $14.00/mo (official rate card); HSI: router rental up to $14/mo unless you opt out; Whole Home WiFi $10/mo standard ($5/mo after promo per HSI)Modem/gateway free; WiFi $10/mo for Internet 100 and Internet 500 customers$10.99/mo Kinetic WiFi Gateway on some plans; own compatible equipment allowed
Installation$0 self or tech install for Fiber (official comparison table); CableTV.com lists up to $99 install for Internet Air$0 - installation is free (HSI)$99 for Fios, waived when ordered online; $0 for 5G/LTE Home (self-install)$100 fiber installation, usually waived; free self-install if home previously had fiber; waived fee may be charged pro-rata if you disconnect within the first year$0 self-installunknown (page mentions same-day setup only)Up to $100 for fiber; $30 DSL self-install$35 one-time device connection fee (Clark.com)$100.00 professional installation; $25 first outlet new install (official rate card)$0 self-install or $50 professional install, each with a $20 activation fee (HSI)Activation/installation fee applies; amount unknown (HSI lists activation fees as a con without an amount)
ACSI 20267972757279717878647171
J.D. Power 2026Regional/segment winnerScored, not a winnerRegional/segment winnerRunner-up in a regionNot publishedScored, not a winnerNot publishedRegional/segment winnerNot publishedScored, not a winnerNot published
Coverage (US households)~49%~11%~25%~6%~25%~35%Unverified~64%Unverified~30%~3%

Backup matters

AT&T includes Internet Backup (cellular failover) for its unlimited wireless customers; a 5G home gateway or a phone hotspot plan is a reasonable backup for anyone whose income depends on uptime. Budget $15–$30 a month for it if your provider does not include one.

Frequently asked questions

How much speed do I need for Zoom and Teams?

Each HD call needs roughly 3–4 Mbps up and down; 4K calls more. The constraint is almost always upload on cable or 5G, not download.

Sources and verification

  1. AT&T Fiber plan prices (300/$50, 500/$60, 1000/$70, 5000/$110), equal up/down speeds, unlimited data, $0 install, gateway included, YouTube TV and $100 reward card promos, AT&T Guarantee — att.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  2. Internet Air $60/mo w/ AutoPay (debit/bank), $65 w/ credit card, 90-300 Mbps, install up to $99, 2025 price increase; Fiber no second-year hikes — cabletv.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  3. Internet Air 300 Mbps down / up to 30 Mbps up, no contract, no data cap, gateway included, ~15% FCC-tracked coverage, 20% wireless bundle discount — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  4. ACSI 2026: AT&T Fiber 79, AT&T Internet 71 — theacsi.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  5. J.D. Power 2026: AT&T highest wired in North Central (578) and West (595); South 611 — financialcontent.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  6. Footprint 21 states / 49% nationwide coverage — aol.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  7. Plans 500/$50, 1 Gig/$50, 2 Gig/$70, 3 Gig/$70, 8 Gig/$165; free install and equipment; unlimited data; no contract; AT&T Wireless bundle $20 off; page updated 2026-09-01 — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  8. Fios 300/$49.99 (3-yr), 500/$74.99 (4-yr), 1 Gig/$89.99, 2 Gig/$109.99, 5 Gig/$119.99 (5-yr); 5G Home $50/$60/$75; router included; $99 Fios install waived online; no contracts/ETF; perks and cons — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  9. Fiber 200/$29.99 (12 mo), 500/$44.99, 1 Gig/$64.99, 2 Gig/$79.99, 5 Gig/$104.99, 7 Gig/$124.99; Wi-Fi 7 router included; $100 install usually waived; no data caps; contract/ETF nuance; perks and cons — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  10. Frontier Fiber is symmetrical; unlimited data; no monthly equipment rental fees (official Frontier blog, 2026-07-23) — go.frontier.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  11. Plans 300/$45, 500/$50, 1 Gig/$60 with 5-year price guarantee; $40 1-year promo ends 12/1; no contract/ETF; unlimited data; WiFi equipment included; mobile line and Peacock perks — xfinity.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  12. Fiber 200/$29.99, 500/$39.99, 1 Gig/$49.99, 2 Gig/$59.99, 5 Gig/$89.99, 8 Gig/$119.99 with autopay; DSL $55-$65; fees; 20 states/13 fiber; perks and cons; page modified 2026-09-15 — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  13. Rely $60 (up to 354/55 Mbps), Amplified $70 (498/55), All-In $80 (498/55); June 2026 price increases; up to $25 off with voice line; page modified 2026-10-19 — cabletv.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  14. 5-year price lock, $35 connection fee, no equipment fee, no data caps with deprioritization, no contract/ETF, All-In perks, test drive, $300 card (Jan 2026) — clark.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  15. Promo plans 300/$35, 500/$45, 1 Gig/$55, 2 Gig/$65, 8 Gig/$90 with Auto Pay & Paperless; router up to $14/mo; no data cap; no contracts; perks and cons; page updated 2026-10-01 — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  16. Official standard rate card effective 2026-05-18: fiber 300/$75, 1 Gig/$115, 8 Gig/$300; cable tiers; Network Enhancement Fee $6; Wireless Gateway $14; pro install $100; late fee $10 — optimum.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  17. Plans Internet 100/$30, 500/$40, 1 Gig/$60 (1 yr), 2 Gig/$80, 7 Gig/$140; free modem; WiFi $10/mo; $0/$50 install + $20 activation; no data caps; no contracts; perks and cons; page modified 2026-10-12 — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  18. Up to 5-year price lock with unlimited mobile line and select speeds — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)
  19. Charter completed Cox acquisition 2026-08-20; operates as Spectrum across all markets; >70 million homes/businesses in 45 states; customer service commitments — sec.gov (observed 2026-10-30)
  20. Plans 50 Mbps DSL/$44.99, 100 Mbps/$19.99, 300/$34.99, 1 Gig/$39.99, 2 Gig/$59.99, Max 2 Gig/$79.99; 12-/36-month promos; $10.99 gateway; unlimited data; no contracts; perks and cons; page modified 2026-09-16 — highspeedinternet.com (observed 2026-10-30)